What aids your pipe enjoyment?

LtPiper

I already know someone is going to say pairing up the pipe with something to drink - coffee, whiskey, etc. But what else? I love reading good books while smoking a pipe. I also like listening to music, good music, music that is instrumental and without words. I want to smoke and find my own words - that's how I relax. Sometimes I'll read a little bit, listen to some good music, find my thoughts and then the words just flow. It is very therapeutic . I think I like these things because my life necessitates extreme contrasts for sanity's sake. What I do for a living, and what I do off hours are vastly different. Off hours I paint, play and listen to music, read, enjoy photography, write, etc. I don't think the folks I work with would recognize me off hours. I think smoking a pipe aids me, helps me find my "place". So what are you fond of that you find really helps you enjoy the pipe or the pipe really helps you enjoy the What???
"It is ordained in the eternal constitution of things, that men of intemperate minds cannot be free. Their passions forge the fetters." - Edmund Burke
Wooda
Founding Member

Solzhenytsen.
Black coffee.
Music of various origins.
Most of all a winter sun rising over the mountains.
Underwater Basketweaver.
Baskets of basket pipes.
Houtenziel
Codger in Training

Nature. I really love to just sit outside, stare off into the trees and watch the birds flying around, squirrels chasing each other, clouds rolling on by.
We have hummingbird feeders right by where I usually sit and smoke, and I can(and do) sit for hours just puffing away watching them dog fight and jockey for position at the feeders. Pairing the blends with the weather and seasons also helps set mood too. Nothing like having some rich Lat blend on a cold clear winter morning, freezing my ass off outside :D
“To educate a person in the mind but not in morals is to educate a menace to society.”
― Theodore Roosevelt
arturo7
Member in Good Standing