Pre-Republic Peterson Ghost.

saulgoldie

Speaking of pre-Republic Petes...I have a nice old XL90 that has sweet ghost. I tried the alcohol and salt soak. (What is the salt supposed to do, anyway?) I did it several times. But the ghost is still there. And...

What is the retort method? I know what a retort is. But...??

Anyway, I do like the pipe. It smokes well. But I would like to purge that residual taste. Thanks in advance.

Saul
Piping Abe
Certified Codger

I have no experience with retorts other than watching youtube and articles. Many different types. Heres a good example.

https://rebornpipes.com/2012/10/17/what ... t-is-used/

Make sure you trim the cake back as much as possible. I’ve heard used coffee grounds smeared in the bowl and left to soak for a bit might help as well.
pipedrum22
Member in Good Standing

saulgoldie wrote: Sat Feb 18, 2023 10:23 am Speaking of pre-Republic Petes...I have a nice old XL90 that has sweet ghost. I tried the alcohol and salt soak. (What is the salt supposed to do, anyway?) I did it several times. But the ghost is still there. And...

What is the retort method? I know what a retort is. But...??

Anyway, I do like the pipe. It smokes well. But I would like to purge that residual taste. Thanks in advance.

Saul
Nah the pipe is ruined. Send it to me so I can dispose of it properly. ;)
“The sea was angry that day my friends!”
pipedrum22
Member in Good Standing

In all seriousness it may take several salt and alcohol treatments to get rid of the ghost. If all else fails just dedicate it to an even stronger ghosting tobacco and fight fire with fire.
“The sea was angry that day my friends!”
Mr Beardsley
Founding Member

If it's a system pipe you have to do the salt and alcohol in the well too
“If you try to fail, and succeed, which have you done?” - George Carlin
MikeDennison
Certified Codger

pipedrum22 wrote: Sat Feb 18, 2023 10:43 am Nah the pipe is ruined. Send it to me so I can dispose of it properly. ;)
:lol: :lol: