I Found...

Puff nstuff

Hi everyone.

Today I did some driving to catch up with my family who were vacationing on the coast, and on the way I stopped at a nice B & M tobacco shop. This shop had a decent selection of pipes and tobaccos, with a large selection of their own blends and a smaller selection of tinned tobacco. I ended up buying myself a nice pipe lighter, some tools, and a pouch of Drexel II, which is a vanilla gold & black Cavendish affair that smells pretty yummy.

Among the tinned were several original Dunhill blends. I thought to take a photo of them, but discovered later that my photo was crap. Now I don't remember all of them, but those I do remember were Flake, Royal Yacht, Aperitif, Ready Rubbed, and a couple others; no EMP, MM 965, or Nightcap. They also had some Erinmore.

Each tin was priced at $35. Now, being a newbie, I have no context from which to make any rational decisions about buying any of them, but I do know that Dunhill stopped making tobaccos and the remaining stuff out there will soon be unavailable. I've never smoked any Dunhill tobacco, but the reviews of Aperitif have piqued my interest in that particular blend. So...

1. Is that pricing correct?
2. Do I need to buy any of it for myself to enjoy now, cellar for awhile, or hold as an investment?
3. Does anyone want me to snag any of it for them?

I stopped at a more modest smoke shop later in the day and also found some curiosities - 1.5 oz packs of Carter Hall and Granger, both priced at $6. I know the company that took over those blends no longer market these small packs, so I figure they're older stock. What about these? I've never smoked either of them. Should I? Somebody else want them?
Because sometimes the body just wants canned fish. 🦪
Fr_Tom
Chaplain

I would be tempted to pick up a pouch of the Carter Hall and Granger. You owe it to yourself to have tried them probably.
"Prov'dence don't fire no blank ca'tridges, boys" Roughing It, Mark Twain

Old Ted Award - 2017