Peterson vs Vauen

BriarorBust

Hi there

I’m relatively new to pipe smoking (about 8 months) and am loving it. I’ve got a couple of cheaper pipes but I’m looking to buy myself something a little bit more special. I’m fancying a bent bulldog and have currently narrowed it down to two, Peterson Aran 80s and a Vauen Empire.

I was just wondering which of the two brands people feel is the better buy? I realise every pipe is differs, but was wondering if there is any marked difference in quality between the two brands? Are you psying simply for the brand or do the prices reflect quality?

I tend to prefer 9mm filter pipes and have found 9mm versions of each.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Fr_Tom
Chaplain

BriarorBust wrote: Sun May 05, 2019 5:14 pm Hi there

I’m relatively new to pipe smoking (about 8 months) and am loving it. I’ve got a couple of cheaper pipes but I’m looking to buy myself something a little bit more special. I’m fancying a bent bulldog and have currently narrowed it down to two, Peterson Aran 80s and a Vauen Empire.

I was just wondering which of the two brands people feel is the better buy? I realise every pipe is differs, but was wondering if there is any marked difference in quality between the two brands? Are you psying simply for the brand or do the prices reflect quality?

Thanks in advance
I have one Vauen and a small fleet of Petersons. The Vauen is in the box of pipes I am not smoking right now. The Petersons are all in rotation. I say go for the Peterson.
"Prov'dence don't fire no blank ca'tridges, boys" Roughing It, Mark Twain

Old Ted Award - 2017
Mr Beardsley
Founding Member

My only experience with peterson's was a couple of system pipe estates that were well broken in and burned tobacco very well. I have no personal experience with vauen but I have heard plenty of good things about the brand. Sorry I couldn't be more help
“If you try to fail, and succeed, which have you done?” - George Carlin
Bamarick